Workshops announced


In 2017 we will host two free half-day workshops at the Melbourne Brain Centre. In the morning we will host an fMRI analysis workshop for beginners. During this workshop you will learn: 1. the theoretical basis behind fMRI; 2. how to set up an fMRI experiment; and 3. get hands-on experience on how to analyse and interpret fMRI data with SPM. Students have to bring their own laptop with Matlab and SPM12 installed. 

In the afternoon a workshop on neuropsychological tests related to social and affective neuroscience will take place. During this workshop you will learn which tests are best suited to test for different social and affective cognitive functioning and get hands-on experience on how to conduct these tests. Places for both workshops are limited. If you want to take part in one or both workshops please send an email before the 31st of March to with your CV and a short paragraph explaining why you are the ideal candidate for that particular workshop.

2017 conference date confirmed!

The 2017 AS4SAN conference will take place on the 15th and 16th of June at the Melbourne Brain Centre. 

Keynote presenters include Prof. Shihui Han (Peking University), Prof. Skye McDonald (UNSW), Prof. Kim Felmingham (University of Melbourne), A/Prof. Peter Enticott (Deakin University), Prof. Bernard Balleine (UNSW) and Professor Eddie Harmon-Jones (UNSW). 

2016 international Keynote Announced

Marc Sollberger is an Assistant Professor of Neurology at the University Center for Medicine of Aging Basel and the University Hospital Basel, Switzerland. He worked for two years as a post-doctoral fellow at the UCSF Memory and Aging Center investigating clinical and neural substrates of personality traits and self-awareness in neurodegenerative disease. His current research areas include the perception of emotional and social signals in behavioral variant frontotemporal dementia and psychiatric diseases.

Save the Date - Announcement of the 3rd National Meeting

The 3rd AS4SAN meeting held in conjunction with Brain Sciences UNSW will be held 23-24th June 2016 at the University of Technology, Sydney (UTS).

The conference organising committee include:

  • Prof Skye McDonald, UNSW
  • A/Prof Branka Spehar, UNSW
  • A/Prof Olivier Piguet, NeuRA
  • Dr Michelle Kelly, University of Newcastle
  • Dr Jacqueline Rushby, UNSW
  • Dr Steve Most, UNSW
  • Dr Fiona Kumfor, NeuRA
  • Dr Cynthia Honan, University of Tasmania

Stay tuned for more information.